Friday, March 12, 2010

16th Annual Spotlight Awards -- Nominees Announced!

I was recently asked to be on the visual arts jury for the Spotlight Awards!

The nominees were officially announced in this week's Spotlight, here's the link:

Congratulations to all of the nominees -- I feel really good about our nominees as they are not only an extremely talented group of artists, but hard working. The things that each of them has accomplished in the past year is inspiring and should be acknowledged. Here are our picks for the awards:
Outstanding Abstract Artist of 2009

Tim Beavis
Kim Bernard
Robin Luciano Beaty
Gail Spaien
Rose Umerlik

Outstanding Representational Artist of 2009

Sydney Bella Sparrow
Amy Brnger
Tom Glover
Adeline Goldminc-Tronzo
Christopher Volpe

Outstanding Narrative Artist of 2009

Megan Bogonovich
Katherine Doyle
Julee Holcombe
Fleur Palau
Jocelyn Toffic

Outstanding Public Artist of 2009

*People's choice — nominees for Outstanding Public Artist of 2009. The public will vote for the winner at

Emile Birch
Gordon Carlisle
Barbara Rita Jenny
Gary Haven Smith
Susan Schwake
Nathan Walker

The winners will be announced and awards will be presented at the 16th Annual Spotlight on the Arts Awards Show at the Music Hall in downtown Portsmouth on April 15th -- I sincerely hope that you can make it to the event! It begins at 7:00pm. The event is FREE and open to all Seacoast performing and visual arts enthusiasts and their guests.